HSPF Receives $200,000 Donation from Polk County Board of Supervisors

Filed under "Venue News"
More articles »

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Hoyt Sherman Place Foundation Receives $200,000 Donation from Polk County Board of Supervisors

Hoyt Sherman Place is the honored recipient of a $200,000 grant from the Polk County Board of Supervisors. This generous donation will go toward the venue’s Capital Campaign, Hoyt Sherman Place: The Next 100 Years, which will fund numerous facility upgrades and increase overall accessibility for patrons and performers.

The historic venue, located in the Sherman Hill neighborhood, has experienced a surge in booking activity and attendance in recent years, meaning its economic impact on the Des Moines community has increased significantly. Patrons attending performances within the 2018-2019 fiscal year have shown to have contributed just under $10 million in economic impact through ticket purchases as well as paying for lodging, transportation, food & beverage, retail, and recreation.

Tom Hockensmith, 4th District Supervisor and Chair of the Board said, “It is our hope that these funds will enable Hoyt Sherman Place to provide quality services to the citizens of Polk County” for the next 100 years. Other Polk County supervisors on hand to deliver the gift were Robert Brownell, Angela Connolly, Steve Van Oort and Matt McCoy.

Pictured (left to right): front row: HSPF Board President Mary Sheldahl, District 2's Angela Connolly, HSPF Development Director Molly Pins; back row: District 3's Steve Van Oort, District 4's Tom Hockensmith, District 5's Matt McCoy, Distict 1's Robert Brownell, and HSPF Executive Director Robert Warren.

Hoyt Sherman Place: The Next 100 Years is nearing its $3.5 million fundraising goal and plans to break ground later this spring. For more information on how you can contribute to the campaign, please visit www.hoytsherman.org/capital-campaign.


Leave Your Comments

We welcome your comments. Please leave your ideas and opinions below.

Will not be displayed on the site

Example: http://www.yoursite.com/